Perth

My time living in the land down under began in the northern suburbs of Perth, Western Australia.

I was lucky enough to move into an old stone house near the beach.

IMG_9186

IMG_9157

IMG_9181

We could see the Indian Ocean from our kitchen window, and the windows would get cloudy from the sea spray blowing in. I had never seen the ocean before, and now it was just outside the door.

IMG_8979

I spent a lot of time on the beach – swimming, walking, or just staring at the waves

IMG_0404

IMG_0422

IMG_1348

The backyard was sprawling and full of flowers.

When I first started to explore the neighborhood, I found there was a flock of parrots that lived in the park around the corner. I love parrots, I wish we had them at home too.

IMG_1378

IMG_1375

And one time I found a hidden beach, it was always completely empty. My fellow explorer was a fan of it too.

IMG_1797

(this beach has since disappeared, the coastline is eroding and the ocean has moved in.)

IMG_1798

IMG_1812

Sometimes I would make the trip into the city, for a change from the quiet suburbs. Although, Perth is pretty quiet as far as capitals go.

IMG_1707

IMG_1930

I even took in a few cricket matches at the WACA.

IMG_3791

Sometimes there were sculptures by the sea.

IMG_1042

The jacaranda trees came into bloom, and the whole city looked like a fairytale.

IMG_1620

IMG_1590

IMG_1593

IMG_1588

On the rare occasion, it would actually be cloudy or even rain.

IMG_0984

IMG_0819

But for the most part the weather was pretty fantastic.

IMG_2122

IMG_0407

And the city would ring in Australia Day with phenomenal fireworks.

IMG_0318

We took a trip to Rottnest Island, land of the quokkas. With no cars, and only ferry access, the island feels like it is from the past.

IMG_2109

IMG_2103

IMG_2097

IMG_2082

These friendly little guys are all over the place. They have no natural predators on the island, and no fear of people. I would’ve liked to sneak one into my backpack.

IMG_2047

IMG_2040

IMG_2073

I could have lived on Rottnest Island forever.

A lot of the time I would just hang around the house, its hard not to relax when you live so close to the beach.

IMG_0149

IMG_0389

IMG_0463

Once or twice I went to the Perth zoo.

IMG_3496

IMG_3458

IMG_3435

IMG_3434

IMG_2232

I even got to feed Armani, the giraffe.

The best part of living on the west coast was the sunsets.

IMG_2158

IMG_0160

IMG_0172

I look forward to the day I can return and sit on the beach, just watching the waves.

IMG_9548

Or stand on the hill beside the ‘pineapple’ palm tree and look out at my favourite view.

IMG_9352

Dear Perth, I love you, I miss you, I’ll see you again one day.

– Lisa

4 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Sukanya Ramanujan February 24, 2015 — 1:05 am

    Wow living so close to the beach! Feels like a dream. Loved your photographs

    Like

  2. Beautiful photos of Perth! I’m over in the Northern Suburbs and have loved living here as well 🙂 Sometimes it does feel a bit too isolated, though!

    Like

Leave a Reply

