Exmouth

I left Broome very reluctantly, I wasn’t ready to let go of my life there. However, I suppose it was best to get out while it was still brilliant (and before the wet season rolled in).

The original plan was to road trip down to Perth with a friend and Volkswagon bus which was older than myself. This plan flopped – again, probably for the best (the van ended up dying halfway through that drive).

In an effort to see some of the fabled coral coast instead of just flying back down to Perth, I put myself on a bus for 17 hours.

IMG_3590

I had now been in Australia for about almost a year, and it wasn’t until this tedious bus ride did I fully understand just how empty a lot of this country really is.

I counted, and in 5 hours we saw only one other vehicle. Makes you wonder what could happen if you ever got into any trouble.

IMG_3596

We only made one stop where we could get off the bus, at a little roadhouse in the middle of I-have-no-idea.

IMG_3592

Eventually, we made it to Exmouth. It felt a bit like stepping into a horror film: lone girl watches her bus drive away, leaving her stranded in a seemingly deserted town.

IMG_3607

I settled in at my hostel, and set off with new roommates to explore the ghost town.

IMG_3642

First we came across a golf course.

IMG_3627

Living in an outback climate provides some unique challenges, such as keeping your greens well watered. The simple solution is to not have any.

IMG_3630

Despite my research into the town before I arrived, I did not once realise that the ‘town beach’ is not Turquoise Bay (where the reef is).

It was gritty and pebbly, and didn’t even face west.

IMG_3604

Even the locals were ignoring it except to fish.

IMG_3606

Any beach is better than no beach, and after spending my free time on Cable’s endless smooth stretch, I found myself being a bit of a snob. Still, the isolation was beautiful, it felt like a secret.

IMG_3602

The tourism office was very helpful. There was bad news: it was off-season and basically all of the tour operators were shut down. But, there was also good news: one full-day tour of the area was still operating, and the following day a shuttle to the proper beach would begin.

And so, instead of only getting to experience the marine park, I went on a phenomenal tour and learned that there was much more to Exmouth than just the reef.

IMG_3038

We went into Shothole Canyon, and learned that all the cliffs were once coral when it was all underwater.

IMG_2998

And overlooked stunning Charles Knife Canyon.

IMG_3017

IMG_3060

IMG_3071

IMG_3150

From there we tucked into Osprey Bay for a quick break. There was the largest crab I have ever seen.

IMG_3189

Much like everything else, he was pretty crispy.

Then was an eerie tour around the deserted U.S. military base. The barracks now only host a mob of kangaroos.

IMG_3118

To finish up the day our little group took a tour up Yardie Creek to spot some wildlife.

IMG_3247

It was like a game of Where’s Waldo.

How the rock wallabies get into these places is entirely beyond me.

IMG_3237

Our guide explained to us that they were hiding from the ospreys (an intimidating looking bird if I’ve ever seen one)

IMG_3261

By the end of a a long a thoroughly enjoyable day, we had all learned the answer to the question “where exactly are we?”

IMG_3164

IMG_3212-2

IMG_3211

The answer is, “the middle of absolute nowhere”.

For the next few days the shuttle was running and so I got to spend my days at the aptly named Turquoise bay.

I taught myself to snorkel, and was mesmerised. There is a completely alien, beautiful world that exisits there just below the waves. You just walk three metres into the ocean and you’re there.

IMG_3704

The most phenomenal thing happened: I swam with a sea turtle. I was wandering, snorkeling with tunnel vision and not turning my head, in water no more than seven feet deep (I wasn’t comfortable going any deeper just yet). I turned my head and there it was, a sea turtle just past arms reach. We startled each other, and both jumped. After that, we just cruised together for about five minutes. I kept a few metres back, and when it decided it was done with my presence, it sped off. They truly do fly underwater. If nothing else had happened during my time in Exmouth, this would have made it worthwhile.

IMG_3681

That’s not to say there isn’t a certain charm and beauty to be found elsewhere here.

IMG_3218

IMG_3638

IMG_3210

IMG_3635

IMG_3610

I hope to return to Exmouth one day during the whale shark and manta ray season, so I can swim alongside the gentle giants. Until then I’ll keep thinking about those quiet days spent on the beach, and the magic just a snorkel set away.

IMG_3196

Leave a Reply

